Speaking Up

Photo by Askar Abayev on Pexels.com

In my youth, I was shy and class recitations terrify me, that my voice would falter or tremble that I wouldn’t be clear about what I was trying to bring up for an answer.

Growing older, I used my pen to voice out my sentiments or opinions, and sometimes they can really cut.

Gradually, I have learned to speak up for my convictions or opinions in public, finally losing the shyness in my youth.

However, I have observed some friends, even in their old age, who do not have the courage to voice out their opinions even when asked that they just tell their close friends after the meeting that they disagree with the popular decision. Probably they tell me off the meeting proper so I would be the one to voice out the dissenting opinion and fight it out and be the one to get stressed. But sometimes, I get irritated because we usually do not get the numbers when the decision is based on “majority wins”.

Sometimes, I would deliberate on whether or not I should do likewise. But what good will it do if we all agree even to a wrong decision?

And one day I was proven right. One time, every one was quiet about the suggested use of the chapel funds on a petty, almost personal matter we should pay by ourselves, by the chapel coordinator. I strongly dissented until the the suggestion was overturned. And I realized that some agreed with me but are just too meek.

And one week after, somebody inquired who paid for it. They proudly replied without hesitation that the chapel coordinator paid for it from her personal funds. And they breathed with a sigh of relief that they do not have to say otherwise!

And although I know I could not win a popularity contest for always challenging what I think is not right, I am proud of myself for the first time.

3 thoughts on “Speaking Up

  1. I find it difficult to be quiet if I feel something is not correct. In the larger perspective, we can do very little about all the wrongs that are happening in the country. But at least in our own circle, we should speak out. I am glad for you.

    Liked by 1 person

Leave a comment

This site uses Akismet to reduce spam. Learn how your comment data is processed.